date and time are displayed here

Reference Databases

Whipple Free Library provides high quality online research tools to library patrons through NHewLINK, the Granite State’s Information Connection.

Searching the Internet is a wonderful way to find information on a variety of subjects. But all searches are not the same. NhewLink provides free access to sites otherwise not available without cost.

Using the online resources provided on this page, you can find full text magazine articles from more than 1,900 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science and more.

You can also find full text sources for reference books, biographies, primary source documents and newspapers. High quality medical information is offered through Consumer Health Complete and NoveList helps you find a good book to read, find the next book in a series or learn about an author.

You can use these online research tools at home or from any computer with Internet access. Just contact the library for the passwords you will need to reach these websites, and then click on the links below to start your search. Happy hunting!

These tools are funded by the New Hampshire State Library. Additional grant funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the New Hampshire State Librarian.


Database Audience Description
EBSCO All ages  Through the New Hampshire State Library, library patrons in New Boston may access EBSCOhost, a power online reference system. It provides a variety of full text databases from leading information providers. MasterFILE Premier contains full text for more than 1,900 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science and more. This database also contains full text for more than 160 reference books, 88,000 biographies, 60,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps and flags.

Other EBSCO databases include Business Source Elite, Health Source:Consumer Edition, Consumer Health Complete, Newspaper Source, Novelist, and Novelist K-8. There are also research sites designed specifically for primary, middle and high school students. 

This resource is available in the library or from any computer with internet access. Contact the library to obtain your password.
Biography Resource Center Middle School to Adult 

The Biography Resource Center combines over 427,000 biographies on more than 335,000 people from over 960 volumes of more than 135 respected Gale Group sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Newsmakers, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International Dictionary of Art and Artists, and Writers Directory, with over 538,000 full-text articles from nearly 300 magazines  including American History, The Christian Century, Saturday Night, and U.S. News & World Report.

This resource is available in the library or from any computer with internet access. Contact the library to obtain your password.

NHU-PAC Young Adult and Up  A union catalog that contains the holdings of the State Library as well as more than 300 public, school and special libraries in the state.  In most instances, the records in the NHU-PAC reflect only those titles acquired by a library since the mid-1980s. No password is needed for this catalog.
Heritage Quest Online Young Adult and Up  Provides genealogy and local history research information, indexing 25,000 titles, 1.6 million articles, and 7.5 million images.  With full-text search capability and U.S. Federal Census images from 1790 to 1930. 

This resource is available in the library or from any computer with internet access. Contact the library to obtain your password.
NoveList Middle School and Up  NoveList is a reader's advisory service that provides information and resources on over 100,000 titles, 75,000 full-text reviews, and more than 36,000 subject headings to help locate the best in fiction.

This resource is available in the library or from any computer with internet access. Contact the library to obtain your password.

Novelist is a service of EBSCO.  Use the EBSCO user name and password to log on.
NewsBank Young Adult and Up  The Union Leader : The full text of the daily newspaper since 1989.

NH Sunday News

Concord Monitor

This resource is available in the library or from any computer with internet access. Contact the library to obtain your password.
Ancestry Plus Library Edition Young Adult and Up  Provides instant access to more than 1 billion names, more than 3,000 databases, primary-source document images and a variety of genealogical research features including 450 million census records from the U.S. Federal Census between the years 1790 and 1930.  In addition, AncestryPlus includes immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records;  city directories;  genealogical societies;  Social Security Death Index;  Periodical Source Index;  family history library;  and much more.

This resource is for in-library use only.  Ask a librarian to log you on.